Talbot Heath

THOGA Reunion – Contemporaries from 1959-1966 March 2017


Invitations were extended to as many of those who had been contemporaries at some time between 1959 and 1966 as it was possible to trace. Thirty-one THOGs were able to attend and there were expressions of regret from some 15 others.  We were fortunate to be able to hold the event, comprising lunch, tea and constant conversation, at the Marsham Court Hotel belonging to THOG Jennie Deavin.  It was a most enjoyable occasion, illustrated by these words from Gillian Greenwood, (Gill Geake at school)

     “Any doubts or reservations I had as to whether or not I had made the right decision to attend the TH Reunion (everyone would be a high-powered judge/ a research scientist who had discovered the cure for cancer /a professor emeritus/a woman who had single-handedly circumnavigated the world's vast oceans and climbed Everest at least 20 times), were quickly dispelled when I met everybody again.  It was an extraordinary day; there we all were, after 50 years, with our lives and stories, a group of wonderfully diverse, creative, talented women who were living their lives to the full.  The commonality of recollection was not just the scratchy pinkness of the summer uniform, the anaemic grimness of semolina spooned menacingly into your bowl or even the hard cricket balls. It was, as well, the warm memories of friendship and kindness, those formative teenage years we had spent together, a time we were able to share our hopes and dreams.  The reunion was a wonderful experience which I shall always treasure!”

From: Lindsey Wainwright – Head Girl 1965-6

Back - Mrs Sandy Foster, Mrs Christine Gallop, Mrs K Wilkinson, Mrs Mary Taylor, Liz Williams, R Clarke, Mrs Chris Wiseman, Mrs Anne-Marie Randall, Mrs Liz Moule, Mrs Marion McAdam.
Middle - Mrs Anne Flanagan, Dr S Ford, Janet Appleton, Janet Sheehan, Mrs Theresa Hieatt-Smith, Ms Kate Kendrick, Mrs Jackie Stephen, Mrs Gillian Levett, Mrs Wendy Harvey, Dr Jill Brown
Front - Mrs Marian Scott, Mrs Sue Howes, Patricia Churcher, Helen Jones, Jennie Deavin, Mrs Lindsey Wainwright, Mrs Barbara Spence, Mrs Fran Rees, Valerie Dawson.


You may also be interested in...